to eleven


New Releases by jason
March 9, 2010, 8:46 pm
Filed under: New Releases | Tags: , , ,

Well, I skipped a new release post last week because there wasn’t anything I was excited about. This week, however, looks a little better. I was really starting to wonder if I had burned out on new music, as this week, I’ve only listened to mash ups, so I’m glad that there are some things I actually want. It’s like I can finally feel again.

Broken Bells-Broken Bells
This is the newest Dangermouse project, this time with him pairing up with the Shins’ James Mercer. I listened to some of this when NPR was streaming it last week, and it definitely had the mark of Dangermouse: ghostly, echoing music complementing the lead vocalist so that he, in this case, Mercer, sounds new. I mean, you can tell it’s Mercer, but you could not mistake any of this for the Shins. Good stuff.

Gorillaz-Plastic Beach
I haven’t heard anything from this one, yet, but I understand that Mos Def makes an appearance? Hell Yes. There’s a deluxe edition that has a DVD, and I’m a sucker for that sort of thing, so we’ll see…

The Morning Benders-Big Echo
I’ve only heard The Morning Benders on their two Daytrotter sessions: HERE and HERE. I really like what I’ve heard, though, so for the right price, I would give this album a try.

Besides that, Pavement’s stuff was reissued today, so I might have to get those eventually, too. So my faith in music is restored this week, though my faith in my bank account has not been.

Maybe I’ll hit the lotto soon.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

