to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
February 25, 2010, 12:27 pm
Filed under: Bargain Bin | Tags: ,

Well, the snowpocalypse is entering its second wave, and I’m broke, so it’s time to go back to the Bargain Bin. Again, in the Bargain Bin, I pay no more than $5 for any album. I’m rating these using the jaynova Bargain Bin algorithm, which involves me listening to the album in a darkened room with nothing but a candle,a bottle of vodka, and a cell phone. The next day, I see how many ex-girlfriends I’ve drunk dialed, and that’s the rating.


Destroyer-Destroyer’s Rubies.
Dan Bejar is smarter than me. I’ve never read an interview with the guy, but I’ve listened to two of his albums: Destroyer’s Rubies and Trouble in Dreams. These are both good albums, but my experience with listening to them is the same: I’m confused. Rubies seems to be a concept album. Certain phrases are repeated throughout the album (such as “your American Underground” in “Rubies” and “3000 Flowers,”) and there seem to be recurring characters like The Priest, the Dangerous Woman, and Ruby. But this album is over my head, both musically and lyrically. Like, I feel like something is definitely happening here, and I enjoy it, but I feel kind of stupid at the same time.

I’m giving it a 7.5 out of 10 drunk-dials with the jaynova Bargain Bin algorithm. It would score much higher if I knew what the hell was going on.

Here’s a fan video for “Painter in Your Pocket” from this album.


The Magic Numbers-The Magic Numbers
I like the Magic Numbers. I discovered them through Daytrotter, and I had to run out and get their second album, Those the Brokes. I was pretty excited, then, when I saw their first album in the bargain bin at the store I go to.

This album did not disappoint. I instantly fell in love with the first song, “Mornings Eleven,” and the rest of this album is great, too. Like, it’s on heavy rotation for me right now.

The only problem I have is that my copy is the promotional copy, so it has software that won’t allow me to transfer this CD to my computer. That’s kind of a pain, but I still love this album, and would have paid full price for it, even if I couldn’t transfer it to my computer.

Looking at my phone, it looks like I drunk-dialed 8.5 times out of 10. It would have been a nine if I could transfer it.

Here’s a live performance of “Mornings Eleven” for you.

-jason

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

