to eleven


New Release Blahs. by jason

So, I looked at the new releases that are coming out this week, and once again, I am underwhelmed. Like, as a music lover, I feel like I should be excited about Tuesday like I was excited about Wednesday when I bought comic books.

This is the third week in a row that I am just like, “Meh” about the new releases. There were a couple of things I kind of want to pick up, or at least that I’d like to borrow off of someone.


Stroke-Various Artists.
I have never heard Chris Knox. He’s a musician from New Zealand who had a stroke last year, and this album is a fund-raising effort to pay his medical bills. That’s pretty cool, but my interest in it is because of who plays on it. Stephin Merritt from The Magnetic Fields does a track, as do Portastatic, Jeff Mangum of Neutral Milk Hotel, The Mountain Goats, and Lou Barlow, amongst others. Hell, this thing is almost worth the 20 dollars just to hear Jeff Mangum come out of his cave.


“In the Sun” B/W “I Can Hear Music” 7″-She & Him
This is the first single off of Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward’s upcoming 2nd album. I like She & Him. They’re fun. “I Can Hear Music” is a Beach Boys cover. I’m not a fan of the Beach Boys. To me, they are not fun.

And that’s it. I’m not excited about anything else that’s out today.

In fact, the only things I’ve really been excited about are the upcoming Trouble Books album, and the upcoming Murder By Death album, the latter of which I broke down and preordered the “Fancy” midnight blue, 200 gram vinyl version of.

So…maybe next week, someone will inspire me to spend money. Until then, I’m hitting the Bargain Bin.

-jason

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

bangs girl has a band?

Comment by Jayson




Leave a Reply

