to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
February 5, 2010, 11:02 am
Filed under: Bargain Bin | Tags: ,

It’s time again to go rummaging through The Bargain Bin. You all know what this is by now, so let’s just jump in.


The Weakerthans-Left and Leaving

The Weakerthans are one of the bands I had honestly never heard of until Pandora Radio. I heard the song “One Great City!” and knew that I had to hear more. So imagine my surprise when I stumbled on Left and Leaving during one of my excursions into the Exchange’s bargain bin.

Anyway, this is a pretty solid album. It kind of reminds me of John Vanderslice; the vocals are very clear, and the sound is kind of a light powerpop. So yeah…a lot like John Vanderslice.

Some of the highlights are the opening track, “Everything Must Go,” the guitar-driven “Aside,” and “My Favorite Chords,” which reminds me of Toad the Wet Sprocket’s “Walk on the Ocean.” If you’re into that sort of thing.

My copy suffers from a scratch that makes it skip, but I won’t hold that against the album. Besides, my computer worked through the skip whan I ripped it.

Anyway, applying the jaynova Bargain Bin algorithm, which involves me making a blood sacrifice to the Old Ones in exchange for their starry wisdom, I give this one 7.5 out of of 10. It’s pretty good. I’m glad I got it, and I’ll listen to it again.
Here they are with the opening track, “Everything Must Go!”

Murder City Devils-Thelema
I got this one from the bargain bin on Jayson’s advice, and I’m glad I did. So there you go, Jayson. Two bands we both like.

I’m not sure what to say about this that Jayson couldn’t say better. He lives and dies by this band, so I’ll just say that it rocks. It’s good Rock n’ Roll, only with a creepy organ as one of teh instruments, which really sets it apart from other good rock n’ roll.

That organ is especially awesome on “Bear Away.” There are only 6 tracks on this one, but none of them are bad, and the disc also has a video, lyrics and other multimedia stuff.

I asked the Old Ones, and they said that there were going to eat the world, and that I should give this one an 8.5 out of 10. It might have scored higher if there were more songs, but since I’m rating how much of a value I got, I gotta take that shit into consideration.

Here’s a live version of “Bear Away.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

