to eleven


The Mountain Goats-Cemetery Gates by jason
January 13, 2010, 8:35 am
Filed under: Mountain Goats

by jason

This is over at Pitchfork…they posted a three song set by the Mountain Goats. Now, To Eleven is by no means the Mountain Goats Fan Blog, but as John Darnielle is my personal lord and savior, I feel that it is my duty, nay, my calling, to bring his music to you.

Anyway, the first song is “Psalms 40.2,” which seems to be the “single” off of Life of the World to Come. Good song from what is my least favorite Mountain Goats album. If you listened to NPR’s Tiny Desk concert or watched them on The Colbert Report, you’ve heard this one. Unlike the Tiny Desk concert, though, this one is with Peter Hughes on guitar and Jon Wurster on drums.

The second song, “Romans 10.19,” is also from the new album. Not not one of my favorites, to tell you the truth. I don’t hate it, but it’s just…meh. It’s a decent performance of an OK song.

The third song, “Love Love Love,” is actually the reason to watch this set. It’s one of my favorite songs off of The Sunset Tree, and it’s one of those songs that’s evolved over the years and become much more emotionally charged. I love this song, and it’s a great performance.

I can’t get the video to embed, so here’s the link.

EDIT: They’ve added a fourth song, “Deuteronomy 2.10,” to the set today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

