to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
January 6, 2010, 9:46 am
Filed under: Bargain Bin

by jason

Well, folks, it’s time for the first Bargain Bin of the year! If you’re new to the blog, the Bargain Bin is where I go down to the used music store and buy CDs for $5 or less and review them, using the “jaynova Bargain Bin Algorithm (patent pending),” taking the price I paid and the value I received into account.

If you are familiar with the blog, then…well, that’s still what it is.

Moving right along:

The National-Alligator

I have said previously that The National’s second album on Beggar’s Banquet, Boxer, was much better than this one. The funny thing is, when I think of this band, more and more, I find myself humming songs from the first album. I really feel like I put my foot in my mouth when I listed Boxer and not Alligator on my top albums of the decade. This album has far more energy than Boxer. Right off the bat, “Secret Meeting” sets the tone of the whole album. Other highlights include “Karen,” the beautiful “Daughters of the Soho Riots,” and the closing track,”Mr. November,” in which Matt Berninger sings that “I’m the new blue blood/I’m the great white hope,” before promising, “I won’t fuck us over/I’m Mr. November!” I feel like on my first couple of listens, I didn’t give Alligator the credit it deserves.

Also, it comes with a second disc with five extra songs and three videos! BONUS!

How do I rate it? Well, using the patent-pending jaynova bargain bin algorithm, taking into account the $5 I dropped for it, I give it a 9 out of 10. I listen to it a lot, and I would have paid full price for it.

Weezer-Maladroit

I’ve talked a lot of shit about Weezer, and I refuse to take it back. This is a band that refuses to evolve past what they were back in the day. What they were was pretty awesome when they were in their twenties, or even their early thirties. But Rivers, come on, man! I know you can do something that doesn’t come off as an over-reaching attempt to reclaim the acclaim that first album got. I’ve heard some of that stuff off your home recordings.

Anyway, back to what I was saying. Maladroit is an odd bird. It’s a good album. Really, it is, but it is at the point where the band’s sincerity was coming into doubt. You can see Rivers and Co. trying to grow. This album has more, and heavier, guitars, and a lot more shouting. It’s much louder than the first album or Pinkerton. But sometimes, the lyrics are…bad. Just listen to the song “Slob” and you’ll know what I mean. Or don’t. Just imagine a rock song called “Slob” and you’ve probably got a good idea about how bad an idea that is.

It’s not all bad. “Keep Fishin’” is good. “Dope Nose” is catchy. “Slave” is pretty good after a few listens. Actually, I would have to say that most of the songs vary between “Really Good” and “Listenable.” There’s nothing on this album as bad as, say, the Green Album’s “Island in the Sun.” So, I’m calling it now…Maladroit was the last good Weezer Album (unless someone wants to make a case for Make Believe, but that’s another post.)

Anyway, I pop this one in every once in a while. I listen to it. I shake my head at what Weezer could have been. I give this album 7 out of 10, based on the aforementioned algorithm and the $5 that The Exchange got from me. I would not have paid full price for this, but I don’t feel ripped off (Like I did when I paid $8 for their Red Album.).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Do you have the whole Weezer discography now?

Comment by Jayson




Leave a Reply

