to eleven


In the New Year II by jason
December 21, 2009, 12:40 am
Filed under: Local Music, Year End List

by jason

As Jasyon posted HERE, music can help get you through the shit. It’s odd because this year, I’ve gone through a lot of shit, and I didn’t rely on music as much as I had before. I mean, back in the day, Neutral Milk Hotel got me through my divorce, so it’s odd that there are very few albums I associate with the shit this year.

However, there are 2 albums that have helped make this year one that will not destroy me.

The first piece of awfulness, which I won’t discuss here, was made less awful by, of all things, Weezer’s Pinkerton. I know I’ve talked bad about Rivers and Co. here a few times, but the 1st 2 albums are solid, and Pinkerton got it done.

The second thing is still going on, and again, I’m going to be coy and not tell you what it is. However, John Vanderslice’s Time Travel is Lonely is helping me get thought that. I’ll let you know how that turns out later.

One last album that I just started listening to again, so it will get honorable mention, is Talons’ Rustic Bullshit. It’s a thouroughly depressing album, and it matches my mood sometimes.

Anyway, that is the year that was. Hopefully, good news is on the horizon…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

