to eleven


The Bargain Bin by jason
December 3, 2009, 5:23 pm
Filed under: Bargain Bin, Review

by jason

Well, I said I was going to make “The Bargain Bin” a regular feature of …to eleven, and now that Jayson has posted another “Who wants to be my friend,” I guess it’s time to do another of these. A recap: “The Bargain Bin” is where I buy CDs for $5 or less, then review them. My review uses the “jaynova Bargain Bin Algorithm (patent pending),” taking the price I paid and the value I received into account. OK, now that you are up to speed, here we go…

Pulp-On Fire

As you may have gathered from THIS POST, I think that Jarvis Cocker is the Bee’s Knees. Or, if you prefer, the cat’s pajamas. I have a hard time saying anything bad about the guy or his band. So…this review is difficult for me to write.

A lot of this CD is embarrassing to listen to, almost to the point of being unlistenable (The first track, “My Lighthouse” is particularly sappy) These songs were recorded pre-Brit-Pop, and they show Pulp in its formative years. Most of this 2-CD set sounds nothing like the Pulp of Different Class or This is Hardcore, though occasionally, what Jarvis and company would become shows though.

Not everything is terrible, though. “Little Girl (With Blue Eyes)” sounds a lot like the Pulp I’m familiar with. Sample lyrics:

Little girl with blue eyes, there’s a hole in your heart
and one between your legs
and you never had to wonder which one he’s going to fill
no matter what he says

There are some other good songs here, too, but the bad ones are REALLY bad. The second disc pics up towards the end because these songs were taken off Pulp’s 1st album and several EPs, in chronological order.

How do I like it? Well, using the jaynova Bargain Bin Algorithm (patent pending), taking into acount the $5 I paid and the 2 discs I got, I give it 4 out of 10 stars. It’s a bad CD, but an interesting document of the evolution of one of my favorite bands.

New Order-Brotherhood

New Order’s Brotherhood is, well, New Order. It’s the first New Order album I’ve ever bought, and it sounds exactly like I expected it to. I really don’t know what else to say about it. It had “Bizarre Love Triangle,” which is a great song, especially for karaoke. It’s a very ’80s album, but it’s the good ’80s. Unfortunately, for me, most of the songs kind of blend together, so it’s hard for me to g

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

