to eleven


What I’m Listening to by jason
October 16, 2009, 4:30 pm
Filed under: Local Music, Review

by jason

This is a feature I used to do on my other blog, The Most High and Holy Church of jaynova, but I’m moving it here because, basically, it’s just me reviewing music. It’s pretty straight forward, actually.

No need to drag out the introduction, so off we go!

The Duke and the King-Nothing Gold Can Stay.
duke and the king
Here’s a confession that will probably lose me some of my indie-cred: I’ve never listened to the Felice Brothers. I’ve read about them, and they sound like a band I’d probably, but I’ve just never gotten around to it.

Anyway, The Duke and the King is Simone Felice’s, formerly of The Felice Brothers, new project. As I’ve said, I’ve never listened to the Felice Brothers, so I can’t compare the two bands.

What I can say is that I really like this album. I first heard The Duke and the King on, you guessed it, Daytrotter. I was really impressed with the songs “If You Ever Get Famous” and “The Morning I Get to Hell,” so I went out and got the CD, and I’m glad I did; I’ve listened to it almost every day since then.

The whole album has a kind of seventies, Cat Stevens/James Taylor vibe to it, so if you like that sort of thing, you’ll like the aforementioned tracks, as well as “Summer Morning Rain” and “Water Spider.”

8 out of 10 stars.

Talons’-Rustic Bullshit
rusticCD

I love the guys (and gals) at Bark and Hiss. I’ve mentioned them before; they are a local record lable, run by several of the bands under it, that releases these really interesting albums. Most of them have hand-made sleeves and stitched liner notes. Oh, and the music’s usually pretty good, too!

Talons’ Rustic Bullshit is a remastered re-release of an earlier album that I missed the first time around. I jumped on it as soon as I saw it on the website because I love their Songs for Babes, and I was not disappointed.

Really, Rustic Bullshit sounds a lot like Songs for Babes, but it’s more depressing. This is pretty evident by the track listing, with songs like “Fuck Everything,” “Fuck the world,” “Goodbye Portage Path,” and the awesomely-titled, “There I was in the pouring rain again, but this time I was at the drivethru
at mac donalds.” I don’t think there’s a single song on the album I don’t like, and I can relate to songs such as “Fool’s Gold” (When the narrator says, “I’ll pretend to believe that there’s a difference between giving up and just letting things go for love,” I know EXACTLY what he’s talking about.)

Most of these songs are just Michael Tolan on vocals and guitar, with various other Bark and Hiss people singing backing vocals and playing other instruments sparcely throughout, as well as whatever background noises happen around the studio. The songs often flow together into one seamless work.

The only complaint I have is that somehow, probably because the album was recorded as a CDr, the track breaks interrupt that seamless quality. That, and the fact that the manilla envelope was sealed, meaning I had to tear it a little to open it.

There’s no Youtube video for any songs from this album, but if you go HERE, you can download just about everything Talons’ has recorded.

8.5 out of 10 stars.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] I’m Listening to… …can now be found at …To Eleven. So there you […]

Pingback by What I’m Listening to… « The Most High and Holy Church of jaynova

Reading your description of The Duke & The King made me actually click on the play button for the video link that you’ve got here. That was f-in’ great! I want the CD now!

Comment by Yvonne

[…] The Duke & the King-Nothing Gold Can Stay Pretty awesome AM ’70s style pop from Simone Felice, formerly of the Felice Brothers. I found out about these guys from Daytrotter. I’ve reviewed this already HERE. […]

Pingback by My…um…list for 2009 « …To Eleven




Leave a Reply

